Now Reading
Winners announced for the 31st Annual In the Company of Women Awards  

Winners announced for the 31st Annual In the Company of Women Awards  

Avatar photo
InTheCompanyOfWomen LogoFinal FINAL2017

As the Miami-Dade Parks, Recreation and Open Spaces Department marks its 31st year hosting the coveted In the Company of Women Awards, 15 inspiring women leaders have been selected to join the ranks of distinguished group of awardees.

Presented in partnership with the Miami-Dade Commission for Women and the Parks Foundation of Miami-Dade, the In the Company of Women honors women who have excelled professionally and civically, and have contributed to women’s progress, through their leadership and vision. Notable alumnae include famous faces from a variety of fields, including salsa legend Celia Cruz; US Congresswomen Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Frederica Wilson, and Debbie Wasserman Schultz; philanthropist Adrienne Arsht; and Grammy award-wining recording artist Gloria Estefan, among others.

The awards ceremony dinner, scheduled for March 7, 2019, at the luxurious Coral Gables Country Club, 990 Alhambra Circle, in Coral Gables, FL, commemorates March’s Women’s History Month and International Women’s Day. The event begins with a reception, followed by a sit-down dinner and awards presentation.  This year’s festivities will be extra special, as the event is spotlighted as a signature celebration for the Parks Department’s 90th anniversary!

For details about tickets, sponsorship opportunities, and more, visit the In the Company of Women web page.

2019 Winners:

Mayor’s Pioneer
Barbara Falsey, Ph.D., Retired Miami-Dade Parks Department, Division Chief and Planner; author, editor, and architecture critic

Arts and Entertainment
Colleen Stovall, Founder and Producing Artistic Director, Florida Shakespeare Theater

Business and Economics
Janet Kyle Altman, Marketing Principal, Kaufman Rossin

Communications and Literature
Lissette Gonzalez, Meteorologist, CBS4

Community Spirit Award (2)
Mayor’s Community Spirit Award
Ana ViegaMilton, President, Jose Milton Foundation

The Rising Star Community Spirit Award
Sabrina Cohen, Founder-President, Sabrina Cohen Foundation

Education and Research
Ora L. Strickland, Ph.D., MSN, RN, FAAN, Dean, FIU College of Nursing & Health and Sciences

Government and Law – Elected Official
Honorable Ana Maria Rodriguez, Florida State House of Representatives,  District 105

See Also

Government and Law – Non-Elected (2)
Delma K. Noel-Pratt, Chief, City of Miami Gardens Police Department

Susan R. Windmiller, Government Affairs Analyst, Miami-Dade Police Department

Health and Human Services
Rochelle A. Baer, M.S.W., L.C.S.W., Director of Leadership Training Initiatives, Mailman Center for Child Development, UM Miller School of Medicine

Science and Technology (2)
Ranu Jung, Ph.D., Wallace H. Coulter Eminent Scholar Chair in Biomedical Engineering, Florida International University College of Engineering and Computing

Tatjana Rundek, MD Ph.D., Scientific Director of the Evelyn F. McKnight Brain Institute and Evelyn F. McKnight Chair for Learning and Memory in Aging at the UM Miller School of Medicine

Sports and Athletics
Isabella Rojas, Founder of Doña Pan (women’s cycling group) and Purchasing Manager for No Boundaries Sport, Coral Gables

Young Professional
Maxeme Tuchman, CEO & Co-Founder of Caribu Inc.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2014 - 2020 GLM | All rights reserved.

Scroll To Top